swalowthesun_bandZasedba  SWALLOW THE SUN bo novembra preko zalozbe Century media na prodajne police poslala kar tri plate, “Songs from the North I, II & III”.

Songs from the North I1.Gloom = “Songs from the North I” continues in the vein of the albums before it – first-rate death-doom in the typical style of SWALLOW THE SUN.    Track-listing:

  1. With You Came the Whole of the World’s Tears
  2. 10 Silver Bullets
  3. Rooms and Shadows
  4. Heartstrings Shattering
  5. Silhouettes
  6. The Memory of Light
  7. Lost & Catatonic
  8. From Happiness to Dust

Total playing time: 59:20


Songs from the North II2.Beauty =“Songs from the North II” is a beautiful, acoustic foray representing the group’s ability to unplug and revel in the darkness.


  1. The Womb of Winter
  2. The Heart of a Cold White Land
  3. Away
  4. Pray for the Winds to Come
  5. Songs from the North
  6. 66°50´N,28°40´E
  7. Autumn Fire
  8. Before the Summer Dies

Total playing time: 42:33


Songs from the North III

3. Beauty=“Songs from the North III” is the most extreme album, a complete ride into SWALLOW THE SUN’s most horrific abyss of finely-crafted, conscience-crushing funeral doom.


  1. The Gathering of Black Moths
  2. 7 Hours Late
  3. Empires of Loneliness
  4. Abandoned by the Light
  5. The Clouds Prepare for Battle

Total playing time: 51:57



Main songwriter and guitarist Juha Raivio comments on the triple album concept: “Making a triple album in this godforsaken digital and modern day and age…Many will say it’s madness. I say it is to bring worth, heart and respect back into the music and to the album format where it belongs. This should never turn into a shallow fast food industry where music is only downloaded one song at a time. These albums hold life, death, gloom, beauty and despair in their deepest levels and forms. The three chapters are different but connected, one long journey through these songs written up here in the North.  

Music is holy, albums are holy. See you on the other side friends.”



Juha Raivio – guitar

Markus Jämsen – guitar

Mikko Kotamäki – vocals

Matti Honkonen -bass

Aleksi Munter – keys

Juuso Raatikainen – drums